Fruit & Veggie Cleanse: Prep

I’m excited and a bit nervous because tomorrow morning I’m starting a 5-day fruit and veggie cleanse. Lately I’ve been losing my ability to eat intuitively and I’m hoping this cleanse will help reset my appetite. It’s the first cleanse of any kind I’ve ever attempted, but what better time to feast on fresh fruits and veggies than in June when everything is extra delicious?

To prepare for this week’s cleanse, I went to Whole Foods to stock up on fresh produce. If I ever attempt this again, I’ll need to find a cheaper store (I’ve heard Stanley’s is fantastic for produce in Chicago). When I got home, I threw blueberries, strawberries, raspberries and blackberries together for a simple fruit salad. I’ll be adding a banana each morning and eating this for breakfast. I also prepared a salad base with spinach, romaine, cucumbers, red and yellow peppers, cilantro, carrots and green onions. I’m planning to add an avocado and lime at lunch tomorrow.

The rules for the cleanse aren’t set in stone, but I’m going off the idea that I can eat any fruits and vegetables, as well as salt-free herbs and spices. I’m excited to experiment with this, but there are a few things I’m nervous about saying no to this week:

  • Caffeine/Soda in general – we get free soda at work so it’s a big vice of mine – I love Diet Coke, even in the morning!
  • Yogurt – breakfast staple
  • Oatmeal/Cereal – another diet staple
  • Cheese – I just love cheese!

I’m a pescetarian and don’t really eat much fish during the week, so that part at least will be easier for me. I’m also not going to be eating beans or nuts this week, so I’m hoping I can stay full on the vast amounts of produce I’ll be consuming. I’ve read a lot of other blogs that talk about this cleanse and most of them have said they felt very full all day, so that is definitely promising. I’ll be drinking lots of water and tea – gotta stay hydrated! I’ve also created a loose plan for exercise this week:

  • Monday: Spin at FFC
  • Tuesday: Yoga at the Lake (first class of the season!)
  • Wednesday: 80’s spinning with coworkers!
  • Thursday: Yoga on the Beach with Neha!
  • Friday: Rest day/end of cleanse
  • Saturday: CrossFit Intro Class
  • Sunday: Rest day

Most cleanses don’t encourage exercise, so I’m promising myself I’ll decide each day based on how I’m feeling. Spinning is great because you can easily modify your intensity, and free yoga classes are not typically very challenging either, but I’ll definitely be listening to my body.

I’ll be back tomorrow to let you know how it goes!

 

Leave a Reply

